24/7 INJURY HELPLINE (479) 783-0036

College Scholarship Recipients Announced

Get in touch

Posted on Monday, July 28th, 2014 at 3:51 pm    

$39,000 in Coilege scholarship funding has been awarded through the 20142015 Fort Smith Boys &Girls Clubs (FSBGC) College Scholarship Program.Recipients for the scholarships were announced at the annual FSBGC Scholarship Awards luncheon held June9 at the downtown Holiday inn.

Law School student Dalton Person, a previousFSBGC scholarship program recipient, was the guest speaker for the event. Person is a graduate of the University of Chicago. He discussed the importance of three characteristics, including balance, humility and appreciation.

The scholarship program was established in ‘|985 byJim & June Alexander. There are 32 recipients for the 2014-2015 school year, including 8 new recipients and24 renewal recipients.

Since the creation of the program, 694 awards have been granted, and 292 individual Club members have received scholarships from the program during the past29 years. Applicants must have participated at the Club as a member or volunteer for a minimum of two years.Financial need, Boys & Girls Club participation, and academic excellence are key ingredients that committee judges consider when making scholarship selections.The FSBGC college scholarship committee conducts interviews with all new applicants.

The FSBGC College Scholarship program is one of the largest of any Boys & Girls Club organization in the country. Funding for the program is made possible by:Jim & June Alexander; Steven D. Jenkins memorial; Jack& Mollie Grober memorial; FSBGC Alumni & FriendsAssociation; Reid Bartlett Plunkett & Grant Ellison Plunkett memorial; Vic Forsgren memorial; Robert MillerFamily foundation; Robert A. Young lV memorial; Bob Needham Sr. memorial, John & Kirn McFarland, AustinElder memorial, Jay & Talicia Richardson, Wade WalkerFamily foundation, Stuart C. Crews memorial, Sean Amos memorial, Joe Durden memorial, Jane Morgan honorarium, Scott Fretheimeonoco Phiilips memorial,and the ES. and Wanda Stephens memorial.